Board of Directors

The AAPE’s Board of Directors is the governing body of the organization. It is responsible for defining the overall mission, developing policies and procedures, and establishing and charging committees. All committees report to the Board of Directors.

Dwarakanath G. Rao, M.D. – President
Dionne R. Powell, M.D. – Vice-President
Rex H. McGehee, M.D. – Secretary
Navah C. Kaplan, Ph.D. – Treasurer

Sydney Anderson, Ph.D.
Lee I. Ascherman, M.D.
Dhipthi Brundage, M.D.
David L. Frank, M.D.
Phillip Freeman, M.D., DMH
Elizabeth Wilson, M.D.
M. Jane Yates, Ph.D.
Calvern E. Narcisi, M.D., Consultant


Committee on Institutes and Centers, Co-Chairs: Howard Foster, M.D. and Oscar Hills, M.D.- Maintain liaison with member-institutes and centers, create site visit protocols, conduct site visits, consult on educational matters, faculty development, candidate preparedness, curriculum, progression, and innovation in analytic education.

  • SubCommittee on Clinical Candidate Preparedness, Chair: Sangeeta Patel, M.D. – Establish criteria for preparedness, including prerequisites, pre-matriculation and post-matriculation pathways for applicants in mental health and non-mental health disciplines. Develop standards consistent with local licensure regulations.

Training and Supervising Analyst Development and Appointment Committee, Chair: Michael Singer, D.O. – Establish policies and procedures for a developmentally sensitive appointment of training and supervising analysts.

Committee on Faculty and Practice Development – Assist institute faculty in life-long learning activity; professional development, including certification, practice building, teaching and supervision; and achieve familiarity and comfort in seeking peer review and consultation.

Finance and Development Committee — Chair: Navah C. Kaplan, Ph.D.–This committee will be responsible for all financial matters, including budgets, fundraising, collection of dues, and maintaining records necessary for a non-profit organization.

Public Information Committee, Chair: Aneil M. Shirke, M.D.
Publicize the mission of AAPE using website, social media, and print material; develop strategies to address professional and societal concerns about psychoanalytic standards.

Advisory Committee on Ethics in Psychoanalytic Education, Chair: Peter Kotcher, M.D.– Develop policies and procedures for addressing appeals and complaints from institutes or individuals regarding any aspect of education and training.

Candidate Advisory & Liaison Committee, Co-chairs: Navah Kaplan, Ph.D. and Dhipthi Brundage, M.D. – Provide a forum for candidates interested in standards and accreditation and the effects of standards on education, career development, candidate recruitment. This committee will act as liaison between the AAPE Board and the candidate community.

Liaison Committee to Professional Organizations – Maintain liaison with other psychoanalytic organizations, and explore ways to collaborate on common professional goals.